If you’re a follower of this blog or a friend of mine, you probably have picked up on the fact that I love creativity. I think about it a lot, I write about it a lot. Creativity is what compels me; it’s the lens through which I view life and the world. It’s also what causes me to stay up too late! *takes a swig of my third cup of coffee* 

During my senior year of college, I tapped into my love of creativity and community through launching an initiative on campus called “Dreams Go Live.” In its first form, Dreams Go Live was a movement focused on cultivating a spirit of appreciation for creativity in the music community, which translated into planning and putting on a 700+ person concert during my senior year of college. The purpose of the initiative was to show people that creativity is alive and worth celebrating. And celebrate we did. The concert was so fun, and the project ended up changing my life in a variety of ways.

After graduating, I wasn’t sure if or how this project I started would live on. The initiative had served its purpose on the campus it began on, and it wasn’t feasible to continue it in the same form as it existed when I was a student. While it would have made sense to just let Dreams Go Live remain as a memory from college, something inside me could not seem to let go of it. While the ideas and dream behind it lay dormant for months, this spring Dreams Go Live emerged from its creative hibernation.

For the past few months, I’ve been working on rethinking what I want Dreams Go Live to be. I care so much about creativity, and I loved my past experiences of getting to interview people who felt compelled to create in their communities as well. During college, I got to interview three really cool individuals in the music industry as part of the work we did with the Dreams Go Live initiative, and I couldn’t quite shake the exhilaration, impact, and inspiration those interviews provided for me. It was incredible to hear their perspectives, dive deeper into their stories, and be given the honor of seeing the vulnerability behind their life and work.

Engaging in conversation with these folks was an amazing experience and one that prompted a deeper series of questions:

  1. How can we give back in an age where we love to just sit back and be entertained?
  2. How can we encourage and build community with the art and artists we encounter rather than deepen the divide? 
  3. How can we be inspired by another person’s story to see that our dreams and the sparks in our hearts are worth exploring? 

I found these questions to be incredibly compelling. What would happen if we went beyond the lens, off the stage, away from Instagram? What lessons would we learn about creativity, community, connection, and the experience of being a human?

With these questions and curiosities as my guide, I am excited to tell you that Dreams Go Live lives on! Yesterday I released the website and new social platforms into the wild. You can visit the shiny, new website, follow us on Facebook, and find it on Instagram. Dreams Go Live has relaunched as a platform designed to share the stories of creatives and remarkable individuals through interviews and monthly profiles in the hope that others will be inspired to see the value in their own dreams and journey. I’m incredibly excited about the new direction of this passion project/side hustle/life-changing dream of mine and have already seen it adding a great deal of value and impact in my life in just the few months I’ve been working on it again. The Lord is so good.

If you’d like to read more about the new Dreams Go Live, I’d like to encourage you to check out the first blog post I wrote about it called “The Spark & The Story.” It’s a good introduction to the story behind this platform, where it’s headed, and why I think it’s important. I am excited to consider the ways we interact with creativity, and more importantly, interact with each other.

Here’s to the ones who dream, crazy as they may seem…

 

Posted by:Grace Leuenberger

"I want to make beautiful things, even if nobody cares.”

One thought on “Creativity, Community, & Connection: The Dream Lives On

Leave a Reply

